Dear America 

Dear America, 

It was around 18 months ago (give or take) that I heard this funny story that Donald Trump, the guy that hosted that reality tv show “The Apprentice” and who propelled our Jennifer Hawkins from Aussie cheerleader to Miss Universe, was going to run for President of the United States of America. “Haha he’s lost his mind” was my first thought. My second thought was “wait…can anyone run for president? Coz I’d give that a crack.” My current thoughts are “Jesus, Kanye was serious.” 

Now stay with me because I’m Australian so my understanding of American politics comes from watching Scandal (which also…wtf has happened to Scandal? Last I saw Mellie was the Republican nominee and now…nothing? Has it come back on? Where is Scandal?!?!) Never in my wildest dreams did I think that he would win the Republican nomination and from there I certainly didn’t believe that he could win the presidency. 

I watched the campaign with interest. American politics are much more interesting than ours, we have to vote so there isn’t a whole lot of effort that goes into campaigns, a few fancy slogans (Kevin 07 being my favourite, and who could forget Tony Abbotts promise to stop the boats!) and footage of people eating ear wax and raw onions (not together, because gross) and you’ve got yourself an Australian political campaign. But the American ones, they’re delightful! You don’t have to vote over there, and my sources (CNN) tell me that nearly half of your whole country don’t even vote! So it seems the effort to get you to go out on a Tuesday (seriously though America, Tuesday? No wonder half of you don’t vote!) and cast your vote is a little bit more…extreme than ours. 

It was during the campaign that I came to realise that Donald Trump was many things. An appropriate Presidential candidate? No. But many other things. He was certainly a misogynist, and you know…kind of racist. I mean you know, I don’t need to go into it. 

So anyway, where to now, America? You’ve done what not too many people (outside of America) thought was possible. You’ve elected Donald Trump as your next president. Jesus. WTF were you thinking?? I also get the impression that he never thought he was going to win. And he’s sitting back thinking the exact same thing. 

What I’ve come to know about America is this. You’re over it. I get it. We all get to the point where we are over our politicians and would love to elect a celebrity/millionaire (billionaire?) as the head of the country, just for shits and giggles. We have a political party called “the sex party” and we all get tempted to vote for them, because they certainly sound like a fun bunch…but when it comes down to it we don’t actually tick the box. Because at the end of the day we want someone who is qualified to run a country running the country. Someone who has moved through the political ranks to get to where they are, who has an understanding of politics and whatnot. But you went there, America. You ticked the box. 

It’s been a few months now, and Mr Trump is about to be sworn in as your next Mr President. At least four years of Donald Trump is headed your way. What’s done is done and you (and the rest of the world) have to live with the consequences of your decision. And who knows, maybe he spun all that crazy talk because it’s what you wanted to hear, and once he’s in office he will be a reasonable and level headed president. Probably not, but you never know! But now more than ever is the time to unite your country. There’s such a clear divide between class, race, republicans, democrats, liberals, conservatives, Christians, atheists, immigrants, the list goes on. But you know what you are? American! Embrace it. Embrace each other and support one another! You don’t necessarily have to agree with someone to support them and find a middle ground. You are a great nation (already) but maybe you’ve just lost your way a little. 

Leave a Reply

